Lok Sabha election 2019 facts

Time to Read: 3 mins

The 17th Lok Sabha India General election is scheduled to be held in seven phases on various constituencies of India from 11 April to 19 May 2019 and on 23rd May, counting will start and the result will be declared. It will be very interesting to see who comes to power but before that, you should know some interesting Lok Sabha election 2019 facts.

Do you know these facts?

  • There are 543 representatives for 1,340,000,000 (1.34 billion) Indians
  • No. of seats (543) in the Parliament of India remained constant for over the last 43 years
  • Each seat in the Lok Sabha represents more people than any other Parliamentary seat in the world
  • The current number of Lok Sabha seats was decided by the government in 1976 according to the population from the Census of 1971 which was 548 million
  • In 1976, the INC government was keen on promoting family planning to control the population growth and hence, provisions were included in the Constitution that imposed a hold on the readjustment of Lok Sabha seats up to the 2001 Census
  • Subsequently, the NDA government also decided to pursue the agenda for population stabilization and extended the hold on readjustment up to 2016
  • This essentially means that the readjustment of seats can now only be done after the 2031 Census

Lok Sabha Election 2019 facts

  • Around 82 parties in total will be contesting 17th Lok Sabha elections
  • This election would be the longest election in the country in terms of the number of days the polling is held for i.e. 39 days. Previously, the 2014 Lok Sabha elections were spread over 36 days.
  • 10 lakhs polling stations will be set up which was 9 lakhs in 2014
  • Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) with all Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used
  • Photographs of candidates will be present on the EVM and VVPAT system will record each vote cast by generating the EVM slip
  • Social media now comes under the Model Code of Conduct
  • NOTA, came into existence, on 27 September 2013, ruled by the Supreme Court of India, for giving right of “none of the above” vote in elections, was used in 2014 Lok Sabha elections and will be used in 2019 Lok Sabha elections too.

Some more interesting facts

Facts about Voters

Total Number of Voters – According to the Election Commission of India, 900 million people were eligible to vote, with an increase of 84.3 million voters since the last general election in 2014, that makes this the largest-ever election in the world.

Number of new voters – 15 million voters in the age group of 18-19 years are eligible to exercise their voting right for the first time.

Number of overseas voters – 71,735 overseas voters have been enrolled in the electoral rolls for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Constituency related facts

Largest constituency of Lok Sabha in India – Lok Sabha constituency Ladakh is the largest in India with a total area of 173266.37 km and have 1.59 lakhs of electors(voters)

Smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in India – Lok Sabha constituency Lakshadweep is the by the number of voters. In 1967, the first election took place, before that its member of parliament (MP) was directly appointed by the President of India.

Highest and lowest State-wise seats

States with highest Lok Sabha seats –

Uttar Pradesh 80
Maharashtra 48
West Bengal 42

States with lowest Lok Sabha seats –

Andaman and Nicobar Islands 1
Chandigarh 1
Dadra and Nagar Haveli 1
Daman and Diu 1
Lakshadweep 1
Puducherry 1
Sikkim 1
Mizoram 1
Nagaland 1

Oldest member of Lok Sabha ever – Sri Lal Krishna Advani, age 88, is currently the oldest member of the Lok Sabha and was elected at the age of 86 but the oldest MP in Lok Sabha has been Ram Sundar Das from Janata Dal-United (JDU), who won from Hajipur in 2009 (15th Lok Sabha) at the age of 88 and vacated the office at the age of 93.

Facts related to Candidates

Youngest member of Lok Sabha everDushyant Chautala defeated Kuldeep Bishnoi of the Indian National Congress (INC) by a margin of 31,847 votes in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections to become the youngest ever elected Member of the Parliament and holds the record in the ‘Limca Book of Records’.

Most unsuccessful candidate – Dr. K Padmarajan from Tamil Nadu has contested election 168 times across several Indian states and lost all of them. He even holds a ‘Limca record‘ for bein the most unsuccessful candidate.

Central Election 2019 Special facts

Highest polling station – Tashigang is the highest polling station in the world at 15,256 FT. and falls in the Lahaul-Spiti region. It also holds the title of being the highest village in Spiti Valley.

District with maximum candidates – Nizamabad district in Telangana is set to create history with 185 candidates and 178 farmers where 12 big-sized EVMs will be used for polling at every polling booth

Check out Indian Democracy | Lok Sabha | Rajya Sabha | Vidhan Sabha

Please comment below, if you want to add some important facts, and give feedback too.

Follow us on Telegram and get updates instantly

Click on a star to rate it!

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *